The Museum Displays seek to tell the story of railroads in the central Virginia area over the past 150 years through artifacts, equipment, paper memorabilia, maps and photographs displayed in the FREIGHT ROOM and the STATION MASTERS OFFICE. The story is also told with restored railroad rolling stock on track adjacent to the museum building.

Previous | Home | Next

 

Steam Locomotive

A 0-4-0 tank engine built by Porter has been cosmetically restored. This engine was built in 1924 and was used by the David M. Lee &Co. in South Richmond before it was acquired by the Chapter .Visitors can enter the locomotive cab and inspect the engine's exterior. Of note are the combination knuckle and link and pin couplers on this engine which permitted it to handle cars with either type of coupler.